Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

Bracket Racket

March Madness is among us.  There were 68 teams in the tournament.  There will be 16 teams remaining after tomorrow.  I had a rough go filling out a bracket last year though I did pick Kentucky to win it all.  I was going to pick Kentucky to repeat, but they didn’t make the NCAA Tournament this year.  (They were knocked out in the first round of the NIT by powerhouse Robert Morris University.

I was not about to join a bracket this season, but my campaign manager (who may or may not be alive after our next meeting) insisted I join one.  He showed me has bracket.  He had Georgetown going to the Final Four.  I grew up near Georgetown University, so I decided to join his pool and do one better:  I was going to pick Georgetown to win the whole tournament.

Georgetown lost in the first round (Actually it’s considered the second round, but eight teams play in “tip-in” games with the winners of those games advancing to the round of 64.  Georgetown did not have to play in a tip-in game.  They were the number 2 seed in the South region.  Their first game was against Florida Gulf Coast.  I am not sure, but I think Florida Gulf Coast might have been in the same conference as my alma mater (St. Thomas Francis University).  Not only did Georgetown not beat Florida Gulf Coast, but it wasn’t even close.

I now have five rounds of basketball to watch with no interest either in school or in the bracket pool.  Making matters worse is that I think the groundhog saw his shadow today and said that we will have six more weeks of winter.

March 23, 2013 - Posted by | Ahmnodt, commentary, editorial, humor, satire, Washington | , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

