Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

Tracing my Roots

Like many people, I have interest in my ancestry.  I learned a lot from my mother’s side.  Her mother was born in Romania.  Her family ran a small farm in Baia Mare, near the borders with Ukraine and Hungary.  My grandmother used to tell stories of escaping Romania through Hungary before claiming asylum in Austria.  She worked in Vienna doing various jobs before saving money to come to the United States in 1949.

My father’s side of the family is a little more difficult to learn.  He doesn’t like to talk about his past.  I have never met his parents.  It turns out his father was a high school basketball coach near Hagerstown, MD during the 1970s.  He disappeared in 1975 and nobody has found any clue of his whereabouts to this day.  My father’s mother was killed in an automobile accident in 1981.

I did find some information about Heare.  There was a large family in Hampshire County, West Virginia.  There is a cemetery where many of the Heare ancestors are buried.   I am not sure if I am related to them, but I will go there soon and find out.  i am thinking of going on a week from Monday, after I bring my daughter back to her mother’s.

March 6, 2010 - Posted by | Ahmnodt, commentary | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. Cemetery’s can be interesting sources of info.

    Two questions – how many borders are there between Ukraine and Hungary?

    Wouldn’t be “taking” your daughter back to her mother’s?

    International issues and grammar will be very important when you address the United Nations general assembly, you know.

    Comment by David | March 6, 2010

  2. There is one border between Hungary and Ukraine. It’s that they both border Romania and that Baia Mare is near both Hungary and Ukraine.

    I say bring because when I go to Patricia’s mother’s on Sunday, I am bringing her, not taking her. I am taking her on Friday.)

    Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | March 6, 2010

  3. Ah – I now understand about the ‘borders’ thing.

    But – au contraire – you go there and ‘bring’ her (the daughter) back with you. At the end of the weekend you leave your home and ‘take’ her back to her mother.

    Comment by David | March 6, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

