Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

The Drama Continues

Just when I thought my moving misadventures couldn’t get any worse, it did.  I had become impatient and decided to rent a truck and get my furniture myself.  The manager of the moving company gave me the key to the back of the truck.

I hired a couple of my neighbors for the day to help me unload the truck.  The trip there was long as crossing the George Washington Bridge took a long time.  We eventually made it to the garage where the broken-down truck was parked.  I parked close to the other truck.

We started unloading from the moving truck to the truck I was renting.  A police car pulled in to the lot and parked by the trucks.  He walked over to us and asked us what we were doing.

“We’re unloading my stuff.”  I replied.

“How do I know it’s your stuff?” the officer replied.

“The owner of the moving company gave me the keys to the back of the truck so I could get my stuff.  The delivery was supposed to go to Vernon, NJ, not Mount Vernon, NY.”

“Where are the rest of the keys?”

“Either inside or back at their office.  The truck broke down with my furniture and I would like to have it now.”

“You still haven’t told me how I’m supposed to know it’s your stuff.  Do you have a contract stating it is your furniture?”

“I left it at home.  I didn’t know getting my own stuff was going to be such a big deal.”

“It is a big deal,” the officer barked.  “The garage is closed and nobody is supposed to be on the property when the place is closed.  There is a ‘NO TRESPASSING’ sign over the door.  You’re going to have to put the stuff back in the other truck and leave.”

“It took me two hours to get here.  I’m getting my stuff!”

I don’t normally talk terse to an officer of the law, but I was tired and did not want to spend another night sleeping on a hard floor.

“You are charged with Criminal Trespass and with Attempted Larceny.  You have the right to remain silent…”

The officer cuffed me and put me in the squad car.  One of my neighbors had to get the keys from my pocket so they can head back home.  I said things that I cannot repeat in this blog because my mother reads it and she would be disappointed hearing that language from me.

When I arrived at the police station, I was fingerprinted and had my mug shot.  (I hope the mugshot doesn’t end up on The Smoking Gun’s website.)  I called my attorney and told her everything that had happened.  She told me there wasn’t much I could do because I didn’t have the contract on me.  There was probably one in the cab of the truck, but since I didn’t have the keys for the cab, I couldn’t access those papers.

I soon went to my arraignment and was released on $1,000 bail.   I had to take a bus into New York City and then another bus back home.

The movers just finished moving my furniture here to my new home.  The story does not end here though.  I have a court date for June 14 at the courthouse in White Plains, NY.  The attempted larceny charges were dropped because I was able to prove the furniture was indeed mine.  They are insisting on sticking me with the criminal trespassing though and I might end up spending time behind bars.

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Ahmnodt, commentary, scandal | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments

  1. Are you KIDDING?! OMG! If the moving company gave you permission, how can they charge you with criminal trespass?

    I’m telling you, a mobile home is where it’s at. When you are ready to move, you have the truck hitch on the front and away you go.

    Comment by yellowcat | May 17, 2010

  2. It wasn’t the moving company, it was that I was on the property of the auto shop where the moving truck was parked. The auto shop was closed and the I didn’t have the moving contract on me because I didn’t think it was going to be a problem. And what got me in this debacle was that I found the one cop in the world that looks for things besides donuts.

    Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | May 18, 2010

  3. […]  I wouldn’t answer every question, but I would try.  I cannot answer how I feel about the officer who arrested me on Sunday because my attorney advised me that saying, “He’s missing a few doughnuts in the head […]

    Pingback by The “Press Freedom Act” « Ahmnodt Heare for President | May 18, 2010

  4. Proof that no good deed goes unpunished – here you are, moving to accommodate your daughter and your baby-mamma and the sh!t hits the proverbial fan.

    When you become president, please get some legislation passed to put an end to this evil phenomenon

    Comment by David | May 19, 2010

  5. David, it will be difficult, but I will try. Washington is the “No Good Deed Goes Unpunished” capital of the world. I will need people like me run for the House and the Senate in 2012 in order to break the cycle.

    Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | May 19, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

