Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

My Opinion on “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell”

I was searching through my archives looking for past entries I had on “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.” (DADT)  It turns out I haven’t mentioned it before.  Although I have written about my support of gay marriage in the past, I cannot support DADT.  My reason is different than the Republicans being against it.  I do not have a problem with gay people serving our country in war or in peace.

I am still young enough to be drafted,  While I believe the United States should defend itself against all enemies (foreign and domestic), I also believe that a citizen should have the right to decide if the war his or her country is fighting is worth dying for.  I have taken the life of the soldier very seriously in my policy on warfare.

If DADT is passed and becomes law, it will be more difficult of getting out of a draft.  I was hoping I could tell the draft board I cannot serve because I am gay if there is a war I am drafted for that I feel is wrong.  The only way I can get out of a draft now is blowing out my knee (and that would really, really hurt.)

December 18, 2010 - Posted by | Ahmnodt, commentary, editorial, foreign policy, humor, satire, War | , , , , ,

9 Comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ahmnodt Heare, Ahmnodt Heare. Ahmnodt Heare said: My Opinion on "Don't Ask Don't Tell": http://wp.me/pc292-12m […]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention My Opinion on “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” « Ahmnodt Heare for President -- Topsy.com | December 18, 2010

  2. How old does one have to be not to be drafted?

    Comment by Mel | December 19, 2010

  3. It is 42 during wartime. It is much lower during peace time (I believe 27).

    Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | December 19, 2010

  4. Another question (sorry if I have asked this before) Do you prefer not to turn on your threaded comments option?

    Comment by Mel | December 20, 2010

    • I didn’t know I could do that until just now. Threading wasn’t an option when I first started blogging.

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | December 20, 2010

      • But now I know. 🙂

        Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | December 20, 2010

      • You can also choose how deep you want the threads to go. I would go past 4 because some themes don’t format right when they get too deep.

        Thanks for turning these on! 🙂

        Comment by Mel | December 20, 2010

      • I went with three.

        Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | December 20, 2010

  5. I meant to say “wouldn’t go past 4” not “would”

    Ooops…

    3 works fine 🙂

    Comment by Mel | December 20, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

