Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

Satire

Dictionary.com defines “satire” as:

the use of irony, sarcasm, ridicule, or the like, in exposing,denouncing, or deriding vice, folly, etc.

One of the things this website has done as satire is take mug shots of celebrities and turn them into pictures that support the campaign.  I understand that not everybody gets satire, so I made a point to not make the endorsement look too real.  Some of the celebrities include Mila Kunis (That 70’s Show, Family Guy) and former NBA star Scottie Pippen.

Like many other public figures, I have been a victim of satire.  It is part of being a public figure.  Feel free to write satirical pieces about me.  It’s what makes America a great country.

Not everybody feels the same way.  I recently received a notice from a celebrity who did not approve and wanted his or her picture removed.  At first I was upset, then I looked at the traffic people looking for this person brought to my website.  133 people have come to this site out of 95,111 looking for this person.  This amounts to 0.14% of all traffic.  In contrast, over 550 people have come to this website looking for “Ahmnodt Heare.”  This means that over four times of people came here looking for someone whose media exposure has been limited to this blog, Blogtalk Radio, and YouTube than for a celebrity.

Satire is protected free speech.  I did not have to remove the endorsement.  I removed it because the person said “Please” and I didn’t want to look like a jerk.  The person added in the letter that I needed permission to use his or her name and image.  In cases of satire, I do not.  It was not intended to defame or injure the person’s image.  Even the doctoring on the picture to make it read “Ahmnodt Heare for President” was butchered because some people do not get satire.

I have removed the endorsement and the post proclaiming the endorsement.  I will sorely miss the 0.14% of traffic that this website will no longer get.

 

 

February 3, 2011 - Posted by | Ahmnodt, campaign, commentary, editorial, endorsement, satire

7 Comments

  1. It´s never really gone, Ahmnodt. That 0.14% will always be with you, in your heart.

    Comment by bschooled | February 3, 2011

    • For every 10000 people who come to the website in the future, there will be 14 who will not come here now. I am concerned about those 14 people.

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | February 3, 2011

  2. Tell me the celebs name so I can add them to my site and get those 14 people back.

    Comment by Bearman | February 3, 2011

  3. I must have not interviewed this celeb on Famous Interviews yet because I haven’t received a letter. 😦 I feel so left out.

    Comment by Mel | February 3, 2011

  4. The only celebrity I hadn’t heard of before the endorsement. I found the picture doing an image search for “celebrity mugshots.” I’d rather have my mugshot be shown endorsing Barack Obama than as an actual mugshot.

    Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | February 3, 2011

  5. Some people are mean-spirited party poopers. I’m sure you can find someone better to endorse your campaign.

    Comment by yellowcat | February 12, 2011

    • I have other endorsements already.

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | February 12, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

