Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

Defending Mitt Romney

DISCLAIMER:  This shall in no way be looked at as an endorsement.  I am still running for President and for the time being will only endorse myself.  

Before I do the dubious deed of defending Mitt Romney, let me point that he still has a bunch of flaws.  He is the architect of ObamaCare and believes in mandating health insurance.  He has changed his position on a number of issues including abortion.  The oil required to keep his hair slick has risen oil prices $.15/barrel.

Mitt Romney is a very rich man.  There is nothing wrong with that.  He made $43 million in 2011 without having to work.  I wouldn’t be honest if I said I don’t envy the bejeebus of him.  People like to point out that he only paid 13.7% in income taxes.  They fail to mention that 13.7% translates to $6 million.  How many of you paid $6 million in taxes?  I didn’t.  I probably won’t pay that much over the course of my lifetime.

He also gave $7 million to various charities.  $4 million went to the Mormon Church.  $3 million went to other charities that help the poor.  Between taxes and charities, Romney never saw $13 million of what he made (or 30% of his pay.)  That is near the highest bracket.  Romney’s 30% comes after deductions.

Don’t get me wrong, I do NOT want Romney to be President.  But with so many other weaknesses to choose from, who much money he paid in taxes shouldn’t be one of the things to nail him on.  I hope to make enough money to pay $6 million in taxes and not sweat.

January 27, 2012 - Posted by | commentary, economy, editorial, humor, issues, satire, taxes | , , , , ,

11 Comments

  1. And you will once you have served your 2 terms.

    That’s when the big money starts rolling in.

    You’ll get book contracts, major speaking fees (probably every major and minor country on the planet will want you, excepting, of course, the Canadians…but screw ’em, you want to be paid in hard cash, not maple syrup and flat beer).

    Bill and Hillary are worth more than 100 million, and you know damn well they didn’t work like Mitt Romney worked, not as hard and not half as smart.

    So no reason you can’t cash in too.

    As president, you might push for an investigation of the MLB mafia. That could yield you full ownership of the Mets.

    So you retire with your own team and a skybox, 9 figures in assets and everytime someone offers you six figures to go yell some idiocy at them you will be able to do it.

    Sunny days are just around the corner, only some elections keeping you from it.

    Comment by John P. Slevin | January 27, 2012

    • That’s why I’m not getting on Mitt. I’m not going to want to pay too much in taxes after my two terms have expired.

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | January 27, 2012

  2. What people also forget is that much of that was in dividends.

    If I earn $100 and pay taxes and end up with $65 I have already paid taxes on the income of $35.

    Now let’s say I invest that money and earn dividends/capital gains….should I pay again on my money?

    That is the question. Next year it won’t matter because the rate will go back up so capital gains and income will be taxed at the same rate.

    Comment by bearman | January 28, 2012

    • so right Bearman. Have purchased and sold my homes and commercial properties in the past, as well as retirement and financial investments (those were the days) that I know all about capital gains and dividends.
      Capital gains, on several occasions in the past, have resulted in double taxation.
      As opposed to Romney who has some fabulous hoops laid out for him.
      Make half a million or more and Whoop! there It Is. Make net or gross under that? Whoop! There goes your bank account…

      Comment by Rachael Black | January 28, 2012

  3. Just so you know, the LDS Church REQUIRES members tithe that percentage of their income. doesn’t count. not that I did not previously aspire to make the money required to be a philanthropist, but as homelessness looms I cannot help but wonder how much of those ‘charitable’ contributions went to help people actually deserving of charity; who have worked their entire lives, put themselves through college, paid far more in taxes than the average middle class family (fucking self-employment) raised a family, are not addicts, and have never been arrested.
    I’m thinking, uhhhhh, none.

    Wonderful tongue in cheek piece -grin-.

    Comment by Rachael Black | January 28, 2012

    • It would depend on how the government defines “charity.” Some charities have a 40% overhead and the CEOs of some charities make six-figure salaries. I donate to “Habitat for Hotties” because no hottie should have to be confined to a ranch-style house.

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | January 28, 2012

      • This charity has not yet opened an office in Reno.
        Damn. Always the last to know.
        If elected President will you help to make more Americans aware of such a special and gratifying charity and those in need?
        (especially those in Reno whose names beings with Rachael and end with Black).
        Am willing to pose in front of an open sewer -easy to find here just look at any of our music clubs- and surrounded by flies.

        Comment by Rachael Black | January 28, 2012

      • My plan involves making things more affordable for Americans including tax-subsidized flights to Africa where the poor can go food shopping. They’re able to feed a family of four for 70 cents a day in Africa and I think Americans should be able to shop there to enjoy the savings!

        Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | January 28, 2012

  4. He paid his taxes. Who care how much money he made. I loved the interview where he said he’s not going to apologize for being rich. It was a huge F**k You! to everyone who is trying to make it an issue.

    Comment by yellowcat | January 29, 2012

    • He hasn’t made his money with the Cinemafia, so he can’t be that bad. I’m still voting for me though.

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | January 30, 2012

  5. […] better than most people can when I do an unexpected favor.  If you read my blog entry last week, I defended Mitt Romney and his tax returns.  He gave me a shoutout the  other day during an interview,  He knows that […]

    Pingback by Karma « Ahmnodt Heare for President | February 3, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

