Ahmnodt Heare for President

Ahmnodt Heare For America… Ahmnodt Heare For You.

Hang in There

If I learned one lesson this week thus far, is. “Don’t give up.”  Things might look bleak today, but the bleakness could be a setup for something good.  I learned other lessons, but had since forgotten what I learned.

For those who are my friend on Facebook, you have probably caught one of my many rants about how poorly I was doing in my NCAA Tournament Bracket.  My record following the first round was 23-9.  It’s not very good for a first round.  (My first round last year was 25-7 and 27-5 in 2010.  This was also the first time that one of the teams I picked to play in the Final Four lost in the first round.  (Damn you, Missouri!).  My second round was horrific as I had a worst-ever 6-10 record in the second round.  I also lost another Final Four pick as Florida State lost to Cincinnati.   I was in the 17th percentile in all of Yahoo.  Most of the people who were behind me were either people who entered but didn’t pick or people who went with totally random entries with a Harvard – Davidson championship game.

Things started turning around the following weekend.  Most of the teams that I had winning in the third round that were still around won.  I was 4-4 (Most of the 4 losses came from games played when I picked both teams who would be in that round wrong).  The best I could get for the Final Four was 2-2.  Two of the teams I picked correctly played each other and I picked the correct winner.  Another game involved a team that I predicted to lose in the fourth round and did.  The other two picks were Kansas and Kentucky.  I had moved up to the 43rd percentile.  Kentucky won their semifinal and Kansas won their semifinal.  I had correctly picked both of those (but against different opponents.)  I had predicted Kentucky would beat Kansas 78-73 (The score was only needed in tiebreaker situations and my tie was broken long before then).  Kentucky won 67-59.  I ended up in the 89th percentile.  Looking back at my bracket, I knew where I was going, but I didn’t know how to get there.  Past brackets were more like I had no idea where I was going but I knew how to get there.

Here is today’s life lesson:  Things might look bleak for you. “Bleak” is a relative term.  Chances are things are more bleak for the people around you.  If they’re better off today, it could be that they have maxed out while you can easily surpass them though you are far behind right now.

If this lesson does not apply to you, tough noogies!  This is the lesson I chose to have learned.  Chances are the lesson you need to learn is one of those I had learned only to later forget.  It couldn’t be that important a lesson so it isn’t that big of a problem.  Smile and move along.

April 3, 2012 - Posted by | Ahmnodt, commentary, editorial, humor, satire | , , , , , ,

7 Comments

  1. Moving along, now…

    Comment by Marc Phillippe Babineau | April 3, 2012

    • Hopefully the next life lesson can be something you can use. And you’re supposed to smile when you’re moving along. 🙂

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | April 3, 2012

  2. I know my life is much better than those around me. It helps that I work in a restaurant/bar and most of the patrons are raging alcoholics. Anything is better than that.

    Comment by yellowcat | April 3, 2012

    • I find it odd that those whose lives are most wrecked feel compelled to show how bad their lives are (Under the guise of showing how good their lives are.)

      Comment by Ahmnodt Heare | April 5, 2012

  3. haha you picked Missouri…sucker!!

    Comment by bearmancartoons | April 3, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

